We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies. Close

Agreements Relating to International Commercial Arbitration

Arbitration Law Handbook

Agreements Relating to International Commercial Arbitration OVERVIEW The 1985 UNCITRAL Model Law was adopted on 21 June 1985. It was drafted in order to assist states in reforming and modernizing their laws of international arbitration. Concern existed as to the need to improve and harmonize these laws because then existing national laws had often been drawn up with domestic arbitration in mind. The Model Law has been accepted by states of all regions with different legal or economic systems. Currently, legislation based on the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration has been enacted in around 50 states, including Australia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Greece, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Paraguay, Poland, Tunisia and Turkey. A full list of countries whose laws of international commercial arbitration are based on the Model Law is available at the UNCITRAL web site.

The rest of this document is only available to i-law.com online subscribers.

If you are already a subscriber, please enter your details below to log in.

Enter your email address to log in as a user on your corporate account.
Remember me on this computer

Not yet an i-law subscriber?


Request a trial Find out more